The EYFS Framework

Learning and Development

The provision for children’s development and learning is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage. Our provision reflects the four overreaching principles for the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

A Unique Child
Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable and self-assured

Positive Relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments
Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and carers.

Learning and Development
Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education of all children in the early years, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

All activities and assessments follow a legal document called the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage Framework‘.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning in order to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. These are:

 Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Special Educational Needs

All the children are treated as individuals, with individual needs. Each child is able to progress at his/her own rate in all areas of development. We have a SENCO  who will help to support the children with special educational needs and disabilities. We differentiate our activities to support every child’s learning needs.